2018 Nominations and Election Notice

At its upcoming membership meeting, the national AAUP Collective Bargaining Congress is holding elections for AAUP-CBC secretary, treasurer, and three at-large members of the AAUP-CBC Executive Committee. Individuals have been nominated for these seats, and additional nominations may be made at the membership meeting.

The following individuals have been nominated as of May 15, 2018:


Dennis Mazzocco, Hofstra-University AAUP


Deborah Cooperstein, Adelphi University AAUP


Brian Gallagher, University of Rhode Island AAUP

Paul MacArthur, AAUP Utica College

Noeleen McIlvenna, AAUP Wright State University

Patricia Navarra, Hofstra University AAUP

Candidate statements are available at https://www.aaupcbc.org/2018-election-candidate-statements for candidates who have provided them.

Nominations are sought for the offices of AAUP-CBC secretary, treasurer, and three at-large seats. The length of term for each position is two years.

In order to be eligible for nomination the nominee must be a member in good standing of a unit of the AAUP Collective Bargaining Congress, as defined in Article III of the AAUP-CBC Constitution.


Each nomination shall be in writing and shall include a signed consent from the nominee. The nomination shall clearly state the name of the individual being nominated and the member unit of which the nominee is a member. Advance written nominations must be received by the chairperson of the nominating committee by April 30.

To submit a nomination please use the following forms:

Nominations may also be received at the regular meeting at which the election is held. The nomination must be in writing and must include the nominee’s name, the member unit of which the nominee is a member, and a signed consent from the nominee. The nomination must be received by the AAUP-CBC Secretary no later than one hour after the start of the meeting. The nomination must then be made and seconded by delegates from the floor.

For guidance about the nominations and elections process, please refer to the AAUP-CBC Constitution. Please note that in order to be eligible to stand for election, the nominee must be a member of a member unit of the Collective Bargaining Congress, as defined in Article III. The process for nominating a candidate, is outlined in Articles V and VI of the CBC Constitution.

The federal Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act (LMRDA) prohibits individuals who have been convicted of certain crimes from holding office or employment in labor organizations. Therefore, nominees for office will be required to execute a Certification of Qualification for AAUP-CBC Service under LMRDA prior to being placed on the ballot. This form, and a detailed explanation of the LMRDA requirements, is available on the AAUP-CBC website and will be provided to eligible nominees.

Candidates will be provided an opportunity to briefly address the AAUP-CBC Regular Meeting after the nominations have been finalized.


The elections are conducted pursuant to Article VI of the AAUP-CBC Constitution. Elections shall be by secret ballot only. Only credentialed voting delegates of member units in good standing shall be entitled to vote. Voting delegates must be active members of the AAUP, and must be elected as delegates by secret ballot by their respective chapters or serving as delegates by virtue of the office to which they were elected by secret ballot.

Each member unit in good standing shall be entitled to one voting delegate for each two hundred-fifty (250) (or fraction thereof) bargaining unit members from whom AAUP dues or agency fees have been received and for whom AAUP-CBC dues are paid, up to a maximum of ten votes.

The voting cards for each unit will be distributed to the chapter president or their designee, who must be a voting delegate, from 4:00 to 6:00 PM on June 14, 2018 at the site of the AAUP-CBC Regular Meeting. Voting cards are used to participate in the AAUP-CBC Regular Meeting, and they are exchanged for ballots the following day.

The Secretary shall prepare the official ballot. An individual credentialed voting delegate may receive one ballot, provided that the ballots for their chapter have not previously been distributed. The chapter president or the president’s designee may receive the ballots for their chapter if he or she a) is a credentialed voting delegate, b) presents the voting cards for the chapter distributed the previous day, and c) has been authorized by the chapter’s voting delegates to cast the ballots.

The election schedule is as follows:

Distribution of Voting Cards

Date: Thursday June 14, 2018
Distribution of Voting Cards: 4:00–6:00 PM
Location: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, 300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, Virginia, 22202

Distribution and Casting of Ballots

Date: Friday June 15, 2018
Distribution of Ballots: 7:00–8:30 AM
Casting of Ballots: 7:30–8:30 AM

Location: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel, 300 Army Navy Drive, Arlington, Virginia, 22202 (the specific location in the hotel for the balloting shall be announced prior to the day on which the election is to occur).

The ballot count will take place immediately following the conclusion of the voting. Once the counting has begun, no additional ballots shall be accepted.

The election shall be by plurality vote. In case of a tied vote in the election of officers or Executive Committee members, there shall be a run-off election.

Each candidate is permitted to observe, or to have an observer present at, the counting of the ballots.

For complete election information, please see https://www.aaupcbc.org/about/elections