The AAUP Collective Bargaining Congress is the umbrella organization for unionized AAUP chapters. We promote organizing among tenure-line and contingent faculty, academic professionals, and graduate employees and provide support to member chapters as they work to protect shared governance and academic freedom, to uphold professional standards and values, and to promote quality higher education.

  • For the AAUP's June 14–18 conference, we invite proposals for presentations focused on student rights and freedoms. Possible topics include classroom rights, student activism, the student press, and more. Proposals are due by December 13.

  • The new issue of Academe focuses on race on campus and includes articles addressing issues related to student activism, implicit bias in the classroom, teaching the Israel-Palestine conflict, and the impact of austerity measures on higher education. 

  • The Journal is now accepting submissions for the 2017 volume through January 31, 2017.  We welcome scholarly articles on the status of academic freedom today, especially those exploring globalization, "civility," or the economics of academic freedom.

  • Our survey includes data on over 375,000 full-time faculty, making it the largest independent faculty compensation survey in the US. This year, for the first time, the survey includes data about faculty in part-time positions.

  • Through the One Faculty campaign, AAUP staff, leaders, and members are working together to develop tools that faculty can use on our campuses to gain concrete improvements in job security and working conditions for faculty on contingent appointments.


We condemn the spike in hate crimes and harassment on campus since the election. We call on faculty and administrators to speak out against them and to support all efforts to ensure that campus communities are welcoming and inclusive, including through the establishment of sanctuary campuses to protect undocumented students.

The American Association of University Professors joined the American Federation of Teachers, the Southern Poverty Law Center, and more than 100 other organizations in a letter calling on president-elect Donald Trump to denounce acts of hate on college campuses and elsewhere.

An announcement that the Purdue University board of trustees has ordered the administration to suspend, eliminate, and merge some thirty programs, majors, and departments raises concerns. These actions, which the faculty senate apparently did not even consider, much less approve, appear fundamentally inconsistent with normative standards of academic governance.

AAUP & AAUP-CBC in the News

Mon, 11/28/2016  |  New York Times
Tue, 11/22/2016  |  Hechinger Report
Tue, 11/22/2016  |  Inside Higher Ed
Fri, 11/18/2016  |  Washington Post
Fri, 11/18/2016  |  The Journal Gazette
Wed, 11/09/2016  |  Chronicle of Higher Education
Mon, 11/07/2016  |  Inside Higher Ed
Thu, 10/27/2016  |  Politico Magazine
Tue, 10/25/2016  |  Inside Higher Ed
Mon, 10/24/2016  |  Cincinnati Enquirer

Support Your Union

Unlike many other unions, the AAUP-CBC encourages grassroots, member-led union chapters. Your support for your local could not be more important. Here are some possible ways to participate. 

Read More>

Summer Institute

AAUP members come together each summer for an intensive, four-day Summer Institute.