2017 Nominations and Election Notice

At its upcoming membership meeting, the national AAUP Collective Bargaining Congress is holding elections for AAUP-CBC chair, vice-chair, and three at-large members of the AAUP-CBC Executive Committee. Individuals have been nominated for these seats, and additional nominations may be made at the membership meeting.


The following individuals have been nominated as of April 30, 2017.

For Chair:
Paul Davis, Cincinnati State Technical and Community College AAUP (see the candidate's statement)

For Vice Chair:
Diana Rios, University of Connecticut AAUP (see the candidate's statement)
(Withdrawn) Dennis Mazzocco, Hofstra University AAUP

For At-Large Seats:
Antonio Gallo, California State University–Northridge, California Faculty Association (see the candidate's statement)
Nivedita Majumdar, City University of New York John Jay College, Professional Staff Congress CUNY (see the candidate's statement)

Additional nominations may be received at the regular meeting. The nomination must be in writing and must include the nominee’s name, the member unit of which the nominee is a member, and a signed consent from the nominee. The nomination must be received by the AAUP-CBC secretary no later than one hour after the start of the meeting. The nomination must then be made and seconded by delegates from the floor. Please use the following forms:

For further information regarding the nominations and elections process, please refer to Articles V and VI of the AAUP-CBC Constitution. Please note that the AAUP-CBC constitution was amended during the June 2016 AAUP-CBC annual meeting. You can read a summary and the full text of the amendments here.

Candidates will be provided an opportunity to briefly address the AAUP-CBC regular meeting after the nominations have been finalized.

The regular meeting will be held Thursday, June 15, 2017, from 5:30 to 7:30 PM, in conjunction with the AAUP Annual Conference on the State of Higher Education. Voting will be 7:30–8:30 AM on Friday, June 16. See a draft meeting agenda.


The elections are conducted pursuant to Article VI of the AAUP-CBC Constitution. Elections shall be by secret ballot only. Only registered voting delegates of member units in good standing shall be entitled to vote. Voting delegates must be active members of the AAUP, and must be elected as delegates by secret ballot by their respective chapters or serving as delegates by virtue of the office to which they were elected by secret ballot.

Each member unit in good standing shall be entitled to one voting delegate for each two hundred-fifty (250) (or fraction thereof) bargaining unit members from whom AAUP dues or agency fees have been received and for whom AAUP-CBC dues are paid, up to a maximum of ten votes.

The voting cards for each unit will be distributed to the chapter president or their designee, who must be a voting delegate, from 4:30 to 6:30 PM on June 15, 2017 at the site of the AAUP-CBC Annual Meeting. While voting cards are used to participate in the AAUP-CBC Annual Meeting, they are exchanged for ballots the following day.

The Secretary shall prepare the official ballot. An individual registered voting delegate may receive one ballot, provided that the ballots for their chapter have not previously been distributed. The chapter president or the president’s designee may receive the ballots for their chapter if he or she a) is a registered voting delegate, b) presents the voting cards for the chapter distributed the previous day, and c) has been authorized by the chapter’s voting delegates to cast the ballots.

The election schedule is as follows:

Distribution of Voting Cards
Date: Thursday, June 15, 2017
Distribution of Voting Cards: 4:30–6:30 PM
Location: District Ballroom, Mayflower Renaissance Hotel, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC

Distribution and Casting of Ballots
Date: Friday, June 16, 2017
Distribution of Ballots: 7:00–8:30 AM
Casting of Ballots: 7:30–8:30 AM
Location: Mayflower Renaissance Hotel, 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC (the specific location in the hotel for the balloting shall be announced prior to the day on which the election is to occur).

The ballot count will take place immediately following the conclusion of the voting. Once the counting has begun, no additional ballots shall be accepted.
The election shall be by plurality vote. In case of a tied vote in the election of officers or Executive Committee members, there shall be a run-off election.

Each candidate is permitted to observe, or to have an observer present at, the counting of the ballots.